Spit Roasted Al Pastor? I’ll Take Six

One of the benefits of being “connected” with local bloggers is finding out about the local gems without doing much of the dirty work.  I’ve had enough bad meals for the sake of my readers, some of which are just too bad to write about.   So every now and then when you can get a referral from a blogger, especially a taco aficionado, it’s a safe bet it will be good.  In this case my source was a trusted one, none other than Fresno’s blogfather himself, Mike Oz.

So what better way to experience La Carreta than with Mike and Baby Oz in person.  Baby Bites also came along.  It was kind of like Central Valley Dads instead of a Fresno Bites trip.

So what’s the scoop on La Carreta?  Well, first things first, no matter the meat you choose you’re guaranteed a fresh, house made corn tortilla.  You can probably just eat these chewy flavor discs on their own but you would be missing out on some spectacular meat and salsa.

As Mike pointed out, he took me there for the al pastor, which was amazing.  In order to verify they were really good I ate about six of them.  So what makes the al pastor so special?  Some locals were wanting to know where they could find al pastor spit roasted. Look no further (I know Don Pepe’s also does it on a spit but it’s just not the same).  Topped nicely with the crown of pineapple and onion, this al pastor is one of the best I’ve had. The carne asada was also good.

As expected La Carreta has a salsa bar but the main draw is the huge molcajete which is filled with a fire engine red salsa.  Don’t let the color fool you though because it’s mild enough for even gringos like me to eat.  The salsa has a subtle heat but offers a very balanced flavor.  It makes for a perfect compliment to the al pastor.

Some of you might be a little disappointed by the cost.  The taco’s ring at at about $1.25 each (when you eat six it adds up).  These aren’t 2 for a dollar and quite frankly I’m glad because they’re in another league of their own.  Keep in mind that they offer an air conditioned and very clean restaurant to dine in as well.  Besides, who else is making fresh corn tortillas and spit roasted al pastor?

Be sure to check them out soon.  The place was a little empty for lunch and I’m sure they would appreciate your support.  What a great local spot doing things from scratch.

La Carreta on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Going Out. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Spit Roasted Al Pastor? I’ll Take Six

  1. Fresh tortillas? That right there is enough to get me to go. And while the typical evaluation for me is carnitas and pastor, I might be tempted to run the table here and do lengua, tripa, and cabeza. That is, if I’m going to eat 5 or 6. As always, thanks for finding somewhere else for me to eat.

    • fresnobites says:

      Credit goes to MikeOz for this one. The tortillas are just what we look for in food; fresh, simple and tasty.

      I went to the cherry auction today and found more homemade corn tortillas. Future blog post.

  2. Mike Oz says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed, dude. I’ll have to take you to another homemade tortilla spot in the future.

  3. Chris says:

    This place is a block and a half away from my work. Kicking myself for not trying it sooner! Definitely trying it ASAP!

    • fresnobites says:

      You won’t be disappointed. Have you ever tried the pho place in the corner behind it?

      • Chris says:

        Nope, haven’t tried ANY pho yet but my interest is definitely piqued.

      • Chris says:

        Verdict – Delicious. I wanted more almost as soon as I left! Luckily we bought some salsa to take home. My only gripe was with the service. The girl who took our order seemed like she had no idea what she was doing. She must have been new. Still looking forward to going again and again.

      • fresnobites says:

        Glad to hear. I agree about the server. She’s either new or dingy. She tries hard so I gave her a pass.

  4. cambriana says:

    didn’t see an actual address….?

  5. Pingback: Doritos Taco Thing | Fresno Bites

Leave a Reply

