Central California Taco Truck Throwdown

When I drove past the line waiting outside the ticket exchange window at The Chuk, I remember thinking to myself, “Didn’t they already hand out those stupid Buster Posey bobbleheads?” To my surprise the vast majority of the poor souls standing in the heat, starving because of the self imposed fasting since breakfast, were waiting for something far more valuable than a bobblehead or even a Barry Bonds comeback (we all know we could use it). They were waiting for entrance to the Central California Taco Truck Throwdown.

After I got my ticket and my $2.00 Tecate Light, I made my way over to the trucks. I couldn’t believe how many people had made it to the event. This turned out to be a spectacle that you can bring up in conversation when someone says there’s nothing to do in Fresno. But enough of that non-sense.

There were so many people there it was as if tacos were something new to Fresnans. It was as if a Mexican restaurant wasn’t already on every corner in the valley. It was as if a group of foodies who for the past few months existed only on porridge and bread crumbs were invited to judge an episode of Iron Chef America. It really was that crowded.  But not only was it crowded, people were really excited to be there.  Even Eddie the Owl from EECU showed.

My plan to grab a taco from each truck quickly went out the window.  I was short on time already and realized that if I wanted something substantial to eat I was going to have to go for broke and order everything from one truck. So I picked the longest line (dumb idea) and stood and waited. And waited. And waited.

I’m happy to report that it was worth the wait.

My tacos from Taconazo were clearly a good choice. Easily these tacos are worth finding on the street outside of the event. I’m not sure they were the best there but they were good enough to compete.  William from Taconazo was definitely game  for the throwdown as well.  He was sweating and selling tacos like a boss.

I ordered two of the carne asada, carnitas, and chile verde tacos. The chile verde was tender, the carnitas was moist but had a nice crackle, and the asada was chewy yet tender enough for a grandma with dentures to gnaw through. Okay that last part doesn’t really sound appetizing but what I’m trying to say is that they were all very good.

I hope the group at FresnoTacos coordinates this event again.  It was definitely a winner and I’m sure most would agree.  If anything it was a cool way to introduce street tacos to the regular joe and send the baseball season out with a bang.  Although I do have to say that most in attendance weren’t watching the game. They were waiting in line for tacos and loving every minute of it.

 

This entry was posted in Made Locally. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Central California Taco Truck Throwdown

  1. CoolPolarBear says:

    YAY! Rats! I just remembered I couldn’t actually get any tacos…waaay too manyy people, & I’m not so god in close quarters, so I had a Coke & actually watched the Fresno Grizzlies WIN! Next time I’ll go to the trucks FIRST…before the game starts…oh the tacos smelled “Excellent”! :0)

  2. Nicole says:

    We got there early and managed to hit four of the trucks before the lines got out of control. Honestly, they were all good. We decided to sit down and watch the game for a while and when we got back up later to get more tacos, the lines were incredibly long. We only made it through one more line and used the remainder of our tickets there (Los Girasoles). Those last ones were pretty incredible – homemade tortillas and really flavorful carne asada. Our favorites of the ones we tasted ended up being adobada from La Elegante and asada from Los Girasoles.

  3. Shaley says:

    Awesome blog! Made me feel as if I was there and experienced it too! Wish I was able to go. Maybe next year… (if they do it again)

  4. Jeffrey Whitaker says:

    Im glad I didnt go becuz I knew that the lines woudl be outta control. Fresno needs to prepare better for activities like this. Dont get me wrong, I support Fresno and I wanted to be there, but I just knew…

  5. Phillip says:

    I’m ready for the next one. That was one heck of an event!

  6. Pingback: From Throwdown To Showdown « Yard Work

  7. Pingback: Keep On Taco Truckin’ « Ben's Biz Blog

  8. Pingback: Taco Truck Throwdown 2.0 | Fresno Bites

Leave a Reply

