Freebirds World Burrito

Freebirds World Burrito opened last week. I stopped by as a service to you all. As the name hints, they sell burritos. The comparisons to Chipotle are unavoidable here (even though Freebirds opened a few years before Chipotle), just like the Qdoba that occupied the location before it. Cattle drive service line. Check. Sneeze guard. Check. Cilantro Lime Rice. Check. Sour cream from a caulking gun? Oh wait that’s just Freebirds.

I took one for the team and ordered the Super Monster Burrito. This is comprised of not one, but two tortillas. It’s over 12 inches long, 4 inches thick, and checks in at about 1900 calories.

Freebirds gives you four tortilla options; Cayenne, Wheat, Spinach, and Flour. I went with Cayenne. In addition to the cilantro lime rice they also offer spanish, which I selected. It was decent.

Meats are comprised of steak, chicken and carnitas. I ordered the carnitas which was moist but way too salty. The steam was gray and the chicken looked pure white. I’m not sure what they actually do to the chicken but just by looking at it I’d give the edge to Chipotle on that.

Everything else on the burrito was just ok. The roasted salsa was fine, as were the pinto beans. This is just another place to grab lunch or a quick dinner that isn’t a fast food pink slime burger. Like Chipotle though, and my dad would agree with me, the food was barely warm. That’s really gross. Do yourself a favor and go to Don Pepe or your favorite local taqueria.

BTW- I didn’t finish this monster. Not hardly. It can easily feed three people and only cost about $13 bucks.

This entry was posted in Going Out. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Freebirds World Burrito

  1. brianlbaker says:

    I had the carnitas last night, and woke feeling like I had spent a night with a salt lick. 2100 mg of sodium for the Freebird size, compared with about 850 mg for the beef, the next highest sodium level ingredient possible.

  2. Nicole says:

    We ate there once and it was definitely WAY too salty and I like things salty. I ordered nachos (no clue why) and for some reason I thought it would be real cheese and not the weird super-seasoned cheese sauce that they poured over it. Not good. Way too salty. Phil got a burrito that was okay I guess but the whole experience made me wish we were at Chipotle and I don’t even like Chipotle much. You’re right about Don Pepe – waaaay better food in the same amount of time for probably about the same price or maybe less. And now I’m craving Don Pepe. Thanks a lot.

Leave a Reply

