Chapala Grill- Nachos, Tacos and Pineapples?

Our baby is due in 4 days and as any man with a pregnant wife can attest to, it doesn’t really matter what sounds good to you, but only to the wife.  So nachos it was.  Since we were close I decided to go to Chapala Grill which is located in the Fort Washington shopping center.

We were seated right away.  Drinks were ordered and promptly served.  Then we waited about 10 minutes to place our order.  Never a good thing.  We shared a chicken nacho and for the sake of @fresnotacos and all interested taco loving folks, I ordered an Al Pastor taco.

For the most part nachos are nachos.  These were a bit below average and didn’t have any character.  Yes, nachos can have character.   Even throwing some spice on the chips would help.  Nope.  Not here.  Ignacio “Nacho” Anaya would not approve (click the link he invented the nacho).   The chicken was also dry and borderline jerky.

At least the taco was going to save the day!?!?!

Unfortunately this taco was not going to win any awards.  The Al Pastor had a gritty  texture and worst of all… I bit down into a raw chunk of pork (in my Ramsey voice, “It’s raw you pig!”)   This wasn’t just pink, I could have transfused some of the blood.  I gave the bad news to our server who apologized and took the plate back to the kitchen.  When he came back he advised me he would remove it from the bill.  But then he ask what I thought was the most random question.  With a straight face he says, “Could it have been a chunk of pineapple?”  Excuse me.  I didn’t order a fruit taco.  As it turns out Al Pastor is traditionally cooked with pineapple.  Go figure.  At any rate, it wasn’t pineapple.

If you like nachos, tell me below where you get your grub on by submitting a comment below.

Chapala Grill (Woodward Park) on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Going Out. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chapala Grill- Nachos, Tacos and Pineapples?

  1. boogie. says:

    i’ve been to Chapala Grill & it was a major disappointment to me as well. someone quoted to me that it was a “high-end Chipotle!” it didn’t even compare to Chipotle & Chipotle alone isn’t the best thing on earth. I agree that the spices were lacking. I didn’t have a problem with the service as we went on a slow hour. The ambience & decor were great, but I wish the food went along with the decor.

    PS I love your blog. I’m adding it to my blogroll! nice to see another Fresno Foodie! can’t wait for more restaurant reviews!

    • fresnobites says:

      Your comment about service reminded me of something I failed to mention. After placing our order the server was very attentive. Just wanted to clarify that.

      I’ve definitely had better Mexican food. Although around the water cooler I’ve heard many people say they just love it.

      Thanks for the kind words about the blog and sharing your experience.

  2. Robert says:

    Chapala Grill in NE Fresno Chupas! Waited for over an hour for our food. Then the dishes came at separate times. food was not good. We were pretty pissed. Rather than comp us (not what I demand, but except an offer), they brought us one brownie with a scoop of ice cream to share. There were five of us there. Never went back and I strongly support my neighborhood

Leave a Reply

