Is Pane Pronto worth the trip to Clovis?

I’ll try to keep this short primarily because I don’t generally like to eat at chain/franchises and I don’t really want to be mean.  But, being that this blog is about sharing my experience, whether good or bad, it’s my duty to report it.

Pane Pronto is brought to you by the Milano Restaurants International group and is the little brother to Piazza Del Pane.  They occupy the old Pizza Fusion franchise that closed a few years ago. If you’ve never been, basically you stand in line and then order with a cashier.  Kind of like McDonald’s only it’s more expensive and there’s no free wifi.  It’s located in the corner of a strip mall located on Herndon and Fowler in Clovis right off the 168 freeway.

Their offerings include pizzas, burgers, salads, sandwiches, and more.  They also offer beer and wine.  We ordered an Italian Sausage Sandwich and a BBQ Chicken Pizza.  Not hard to screw up and normally a safe bet.  So how was it?  Let me see if you can notice the first problem with the pizza.  Did you catch it?  Yeah, raw red onions.  Big problem for my palate and for my breath.  Of course I removed them because I don’t think anyone really wants to smell my dragon breath after eating that.  I’m not sure if they planned it this way or if it was an oversight.  Either way, no bueno.

Assembling my pizza probably happened like this: cover par-baked dough with dry chicken cold cuts, throw raw onions and tomato on top, place in oven for 5 minutes, remove flavor.  I don’t mean to be overly critical but it really was that bad.  Who knows, maybe you should try for yourself and prove me wrong.

The Italian Sausage sandwich was decent although everything on it was lukewarm.   If it would have been hot I probably would have liked it.  I’m not sure if the sandwich is supposed to include cheese but I didn’t spot any on it and it’s a pretty critical component for an Italian sandwich.  It should be melted all over the top of it.  Oh well.  Again, don’t mean to trash the place.  Maybe I’m wrong.  After all, the place was packed so someone had to have liked it.  Let me know if you think otherwise and leave a comment below.  I’d like to hear from you.

Pane Pronto on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Going Out. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is Pane Pronto worth the trip to Clovis?

  1. Chris S. says:

    With you on this place… It is just bad. Amazingly bad.

Leave a Reply

